RSS

To Blog or not to Blog – A Question Answered in the Affirmative!

15 Dec

An analysis of learning begins best at home, and so as the first post to The Zen of Learning blog, I’ve decided to present my own experience of learning to appreciate the power of blogs. Following are the milestones in this learning experience.

  1. To me Blogging was a new-fangled term that referred to a fad. I didn’t expect to see a lot of serious content being posted to the web-logs, nor did I expect a lot of serious people to read it. My attitude ensured that I “sub-consciously” stayed away from conducting research on the learning impact of blogs. According to Krathwohl’s taxonomy , I wasn’t even ready to “receive.” But then that was a long time ago.
  2. I clung to my belief for a long time. For many years, in fact. Until Google helped me remove my blinkers. I would google with an objective of serious reading, and most of the “good” links that resulted from my searches, were blogs! After a while, I realized that I liked reading what the bloggers were saying. My respect for blogs as a medium of value went up many notches. (Remember, I had started at the sub-zero levels so the degree of my respect still wasn’t too high.)
  3. Next, I realized that all the people who wrote content worth reading were blogging! In my mind, blogging was quickly transforming into a useful pursuit. Unfortunately, I was still not able to determine whether starting and maintaining a blog would be something that I was capable of doing, yet, I had begun to play with the idea of writing a blog.
  4. I then plunged into research. I wasn’t out to find facts and figures – I wanted to discover whether a blog could be created and maintained in a win-win manner, where the author and the reader, both feel happy and satisfied. A blog that speaks only of me would be of no use to you, and one that speaks only to you, wouldn’t help me express myself – right? When I log my thoughts for my readers, they need to serve both parties. These thoughts need to have some value for my readers and also for me.
  5. It took me about six years, but I finally converted. I decided to write The Zen of Learning, which I hope would be journey into the expanses of the human mind, that my readers and I would take together. We’d begin by digging into different learning experiences, formulating, assessing, discarding, and selecting pieces of knowledge – through observation, analysis, and reflection.

With this first blog post, I announce my victory over an attitude. I watched my progress through the different levels of affective learning as I prepared myself to receive the new attitude and then responded to it. This was followed by my willingness to value it and then put in efforts to reorganize and recreate my value complex!

I now believe that a blog is a fantastic medium to enhance the collective knowledge through a journey of the mind.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
